BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

The Blood Mile…

Leave a comment

Just finished reading “The Blood Mile” πŸ™‚ Here are a few thoughts about the book πŸ™‚

If one would take the book literally – I’d be a funny book about some castaway animals, some survivors of various life plots, and their planning of setting other animals – the ones left in the farmhouse – free. That’d be the shallow take though, barely scratching the surface πŸ™‚ What I find underneath it, is much deeper. I find there a story about growing up, about facing your fears, finding love and acceptance. A story about coping with grief, trust and family…

And while I reluctantly opened this book (as I mentioned – it is my “week #6 reading challenge” book), not too sure what to expect (although the Author was assuring me that it is not a story for kids only, rather one that is for everyone), I found myself turning pages and nervously (!) reading further, to find out what happens next Β πŸ™‚ will they succeed? Because it turns out it is not only about few crazy animals trying to save others from slaughter. It is about a young man bravely standing up for what he believes is right, even if it means he’d have to go against his own father.
All that written with humour and ease, at the same time forcing the reader to realize that not always what appears nice and shiny – is truly good…

When I picked the book up for the first time at the book fair I couldn’t help but wonder: Does it have any similarities to Orwell’s “Animal Farm”? Not quite πŸ™‚ the point here is not to show how the society rules itself, rather how it can work together towards the common goal πŸ™‚

Great job, Mr.Β Andy LyberopoulosΒ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

