BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

a story about lemon meringue pie…

2 Comments

It won’t be a review. Just a little story… A story about… lemon meringue pie πŸ˜‰IMG_8617

There is something about the taste buds of people living in different parts of world, on different continents, in different countries… It is as much about the culture, upbringing, as the variety itself… Well, I did not grow up in North America, my homeland is across the ocean. Somehow my life in its twists and turns brought me here, as the new bride so to speak. My Husband took me to the restaurant (as when I got married there were just very limited amounts of things I could cook… well, limited to boiling potatoes and frying eggs… πŸ˜‰ ) for dinner. With the dessert. And there it happened – I fell in love… Not with my Husband – that happened some time before that πŸ˜‰ but with the dessert. It was lemon meringue pie but for me it was heaven in my mouth!!!! Delicious, tangy yet sweet, light and fluffy (meringue πŸ˜‰ ), loved it! For many years after that the only times I enjoyed a slice of that pie was when we went to that restaurant πŸ™‚ Because I did not believe I can bake it myself.

Years has passed and I became quite good with the baking subject, so one day I dared myself… I thought – I can bake so many different things… there’s got to be a recipe for lemon meringue pie somewhere…?IMG_8618

And sure enough – so it was. Found it. Lemon Meringue Pie…Β I started from this recipe. After few times I baked it I tweaked the recipe to my liking, and so it became this:

Lemon Meringue Pie

3/4 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups water
2 lemons, juiced and zested (with pulp)
2 tablespoons margarine (or butter)
4 egg yolks, beaten
1 (9 inch) pie crust, baked and cooled (could be ready made, could be any thin baked crust, whatever you like best, although I am not sure if chocolate would work πŸ˜‰ )
4 egg whites
6 tablespoons white sugar
1/4teaspoon cream of tartar

Method:
Preheat oven to 350F (175C)
Whisk sugar, flour, cornstarch and salt in a medium pan. Gradually add water, lemon juice (save about half a teaspoon), pulp and zest, whisk it all together. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently till it boils, continue cooking until the mixture starts thicken. Add margarine/butter/, stir till it melts. Take the pan off the element, place egg yolks into a small bowl, very slowly whisk in 1 cup of mixture from the pan. Mix vigurously. Transfer the mixture back into the pan, mix again and put back on the hot element. Keep stirring until it boils again, and continue cooking while stirring constantly untill thick. Pour into the prepared pie crust.
Prepare the meringue: Whip eggwhites untill almost set, add sugar, cream of tartar and the half a teaspoon of lemon juice. Whip until you peaks form. Spread over the lemon filling, making sure the meringue seals the edges and no lemon filling is showing.
Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes. Meringue should be golden brown. Open the oven door and let it sit for another 10 minutes. Take out of the oven and cool.
To be able to cut it easily – put the knife under some hot water, wipe it dry and cut.

IMG_8635

Yum.

Serve with a cup of strong coffee (or tea πŸ˜‰ ) and a good book! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “a story about lemon meringue pie…

  1. looks yummy and like a lot of work! good job. so how did you learn how to cook?

    • step by step I’m guessing πŸ™‚ I have a notebook full of really basic recipes that I was starting with πŸ™‚ And it turned out that when you follow the recipes it usually works πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

