BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

what/why/when I read…

2 Comments

what…

If you put in front of me a romance novel and a mystery – the choice will most likely be mystery. Romance literature is something I reluctantly allow myself to read, not too often, as all those shivers from the toes to the tip of the head, and heatwaves, and whatever else that goes through – well… I mean – I went through my share of Harlequin novels some time ago, and I think I’ve had enough. That, however, does not mean I do not enjoy a romance now and then 🙂 On the contrary, but I think dosing it is the key 😀

Of all the types of mystery I like cozies the most… I find them safe – most of the time. I mean – world is scary enough, I really do not need horrors/thrillers to scare me additionally… Cozies give a mystery, there is a body usually 😉 There are regular people and amateur detective. Oh, and usually (which is not my favourite thing about them) a police officer or detective who “knows best” and does not want our hero (heroine 😉 ) to solve his case! Well, of course our police officer is wrong and the amateur wins 😉  I also noticed that somehow they tend to end with the killer threatening our main character with some sort of a weapon, and ALMOST kills her/him, but at the last minute our protagonist either gets away or is saved by someone. And everything is good 🙂 My kind of suspense 😀 My favourite books…

Number two in the “liking” category comes memoirs/biographies/autobiographies… The best is if they are written with humour (memoirs), but not necessarily. I like reading about people’s lives and how they deal with their troubles, grieves etc.

Anything non-thriller-horror-erotica related – I’ll read, regular fiction I call it, and this is kind of a big bag where I throw all the books that aren’t in one of the above stated genres and are simply good reads. Or amazing reads. Books that touch important issues, life dilemmas, etc.

why…

Because I can? Because it is fun? Not sure. I got sucked into the book-world at the age of 5, and can’t imagine world without books ever since… My wonderful Daddy, when discovered a flashlight hidden under my bed, went to the store, bought a table lamp, put it in my room and said: stop wrecking your eyes 🙂

when…

Whenever I find a moment. And yup, I am one of those who’d rather read and live in a messy house, than clean… 😀book_pic

2 thoughts on “what/why/when I read…

  1. What were your favorite books when you were little? I loved The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. Total Seuss classics. There was nothing like peeking into the cool card catalog at the library. Great memories.

Leave a Reply

