BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

D – is for Dreams…

14 Comments

A Little Girl was growing up someplace in Europe. Central Europe to be a touch more specific. Learnt to read pretty early in her life (wasn’t 5 years old yet), and since that time books and her became inseparable. When she was 6 years old she signed herself into the library. The short distance from home (and no streets to cross) made it easy for her to visit the “book place” as she often called it – very often. Like more than once a week. Soon the Librarian trusted her enough that she turned a blind eye on the fact that she borrows more books than it is allowed (and the limit was 3…). When the Girl was in grade 4, Librarian handed her a book saying simply: “You’ll like it”. And oh-how-much she loved it! She read it over and over again. When she was returning it a week or so later – the Librarian asked: “and? Did you like it?” “I loved it!” exclaimed the Girl. “Well, here is the second part to it” said the woman, handing her a book with a familiar picture on the cover. The Girl checked out the book and went home to start reading immediately (she’d done her homework already 😉 ).
It was “Anne of Green Gables” by Lucy Maud Montgomery. As the Girl was reading the book that into her language was translated as “Anne of Green Hills” – she was imagining vast, wavy and green fields, pastures, where Anne would help Matthew watch over the cattle, the paths, on which Anne and Diane would walk and talk about all the important things… The Girl’s head was full of dreams… She’d imagine everything so vividly… She knew there was no way she’d ever visit those places, breathe that air with the scent of the ocean (she had seen the sea, but the ocean…?), touch the red sands of Prince Edward Island… she let herself Dream on…
As she was growing, her head was filling up with many other dreams. The Man of Dreams – gentle, dark-haired, handsome guy, with lots of patience and heart that’d be beating just for her… Little dream of the car – SUV-type. Travelling by car to distant places, staying overnight in hotels on the way… and so many more…

Fast forward some 25+ years… The Girl is a Woman now, and yes, few years ago she met the Man of her Dreams (though she’d never suspect that, the way her life was going… but that’s not important anymore, is it? :), who became her Husband, and who, it just so happened, owned an old SUV (Brand nonessential to the story. Also I will not mention the fact that this particular dream she could have very well skipped and not have dreamed at all – very NOT practical car )… and who, one day said: How about a trip to Prince Edward Island?
Oh, I guess I forgot to mention,that The Man of her Dreams that became her Husband, lived on a different continent, specifically – in the country called Canada… 🙂
And so, the Woman, who still had that Girl with her big Dream inside, went to the very places that Anne from The Book of her dreams had gone, saw Green Gables (and here was a funny thing – she never checked in the dictionary what the “gables” actually meant, and her whole life thought they were… hills 🙂 ). Tears of happiness were trickling down her cheeks so many times in those days… The Man of her Dreams’ eyes sparkled too 😉 (he had to take over keeping an eye on their two wonderful Kiddos, as he realized that he can’t count on his Wife in that matter 😉 She looked and behaved just like the Kiddos herself.)
Did I mention that it took them four days to get there, they went by car and stayed in the hotels on their way? 🙂

***

… I just want to say – Dream on!!! You’ll never know if they will come true, but the truth is – you have to Dream to find that out yourself, right???

14 thoughts on “D – is for Dreams…

  1. I absolutely love “Anne of Green Gables” and “Anne of Avonlea” books and movies. I have all the books and movies. You was able to meet your real life Gilbert Blythe just like in the book. I would love to visit Prince Edward Island one day; I don’t think my hubby will enjoy it so I will have to drag my sisters or some girlfriends with me.

  2. What a beautiful story! I absolutely loved those books, and now that my husband and I live within a couple of days’ drive from PEI, we hope to visit there some day. Thank you for sharing this lovely post!

  3. Lovely! Brought back so many gorgeous childhood memories.

    • I go back to those very often. And remind myself of all those little and not so little things I was dreaming of, and which came true 🙂 I think it is important to appreciate what we have 🙂

  4. I like your sweet story. I read the Anne books when I was a girl, too.
    Play off the Page

    • My Mom was laughing I was memorizing them. I’ve owned whole series back home, and then just before the trip I re-read them all in original language 😀

  5. How sweet. Sometimes dreams that come true don’t have to be grand or vast. They can be something as simple as visiting a place a book is set in. =)

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  6. What a sweet story! My husband always says I act just like the kids; the grandkids.

  7. Really liked your D post. I got that tingle in the nose that precedes a tear, for me. Powerful stuff.

Leave a Reply

