BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

H- is for Hope…

34 Comments

  Some time in my mid- or late teens, when yet again my dreamy heart was aching for something that seemed unachievable at the moment, my ideals smashed yet again, I wrote a little poem:

Co mnie obchodzi
ze niebo jest w kropki…
… kiedy zadzieram glowe
rozbijam sobie nos…

which can be (poorly as it seems) translated as:

I don`t care 
that the sky is polka-dotted…
…when I lift my head up
I smash my nose…

🙂 Hopeless, I know 🙂 but I can’t help that I still like it, and (!!) I actually think it has a depth to it 😀 But hey – everyone is entitled to personal opinions, right ? 😉

Anyways. A few years later, I showed this poem to my then boyfriend. He looked at me, and said he’d prove me wrong. Then one late evening he took his friend and the three of us went for a walk. It was dark out there, but at a certain point he said: now grab our hands and lift your head up. And we walked until my neck started to hurt. But my nose was intact.

Sometimes your hope gives up just because it has enough of your “I’ll do it myself” attitude… It just wants to show you, that there are people around, who can and want to help, you just have to let them…
And sometimes, at those really, really dark moments… well. Then we just have to hope… against hope…

…And if that is not working?
Well. There is always my favourite Patron – Saint Jude Thaddeus – Saint patron of the “lost causes” 😉

St.Jude is invoked in desperate situations because his New Testament letter stresses that the faithful should persevere in the environment of harsh, difficult circumstances, just as their forefathers had done before them. Therefore, he is the patron saint of desperate cases and his feast day is October 28.

<source: Catholic Online>

34 thoughts on “H- is for Hope…

  1. Wonderful poem, and a great choice for H. We should never loose hope

  2. Very cool poem!

  3. What a wonderful poem! I’m glad you gave me the example and explanation after but I loved it and your message! It is so different that I will totally remember it.
    New reader from A to Z Blogging Challenge.
    Amy
    http://amybovaird.com/h-is-for-hair/

  4. I like your poem and I think it’s great that you still have writing from your teen years. 🙂

    Yvonne

  5. You were actually on my A to Z list today! How funny is that? Sometimes someone taking our hands is all we need 🙂

  6. I love the poem…it’s original and probably was therapeutic. We call can relate from time to time! It’s also wonderful when we have supportive people in our lives who help us through those tough times.

  7. Hope is wonderful. And I love that poem!

  8. I’m not a fan of modern poetry, but I have to say I really like your poem. It’s beautiful and simple. Never thought of the stars as polkadots before–it’s great imagery.

    If we lose our hope, we are truly lost.

  9. I like the poem in Polish.
    Hope is always necessary.

  10. Lovely! It keeps the human spirit alive in all of us. Hugs, Duffy

  11. I like that St. Jude. Keep looking up, your nose might just smell something sweeter, and inspirational!
    Play off the Page

  12. Lovely post. Hope is the only thing we should never give up 💖🌹💗

  13. Hope! Life stand on it. And you out it so beautifully here! 🙂 Simple, small and sweet! 🙂

  14. Hope feeds our dreams – good job.

  15. I actually love your little poem. It’s the kind that really makes me smile 🙂 Great job teenage you!!

  16. Emilia, that’s adorable! One of those funny synchronicities that sometimes happens, for my H I just wrote about an alien wearing a yellow polka-dot dress, or at least (in my mind) that’s the best way to translate into human English, someone wearing (something like) a dress of stars. So, pish-posh, the sky COULD be made of polka-dots and you might be smashing your nose against it, at least in my world. Yay for St. Jude! You never know! Keep the hope alive! Thanks so much for making me smile because I kind of needed that (juggling three major projects and not sure if it’s even possible to do them all.) Maybe I’ll pray to St. Jude come to think of it. God bless, Anne

    • now I’ll tell you something REALLY funny – I started reading your comment, but when you started telling what you wrote about I stopped(about the spot where you say polka-dots), rushed to your blog to read, commented, and then finished and saw that you said you needed laugh – well, in my comment on yours I wrote I needed the nudge 🙂
      loved it!! wonder if it ever happens again 😀 😀 😀

  17. If you lose Hope you lose everything….Good Word!

  18. Hope is my favorite word in the enyire English languag and Jude is one of my most favorite saints.

Leave a Reply

