BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

L – is for “Leaving Time”…

1 Comment

*********************************** possible unintentional spoilers!!!!***********************************

0653c-lI did not think I had it in me… but I just finished reading this book and I felt like I’d burst if I do not write about it! It is just crazy how incredible the book can be! AND it matches the L-theme, so be it! 🙂 second post in blogging a-z challenge – here I come! 🙂 

***

I started reading it because it was one of the two choices for a March read on one of the Facebook groups. I’ve heard about Jodi Picoult before, she was an author recommended to me by friends, but I always thought… well. To be honest I always thought her books be to “high shelf” for me, if you know what I mean.

So, if a little reluctantly, I started reading the book, not knowing anything about it. Yup, I am one of those readers that almost never checks the reviews before reading a book.

I started.. and almost immediately I sunk in it. Sunk really hard. Why, it is a mystery – missing mother, teenage girl deciding to look for her…  Mother went missing in suspicious circumstances – there was a murder that happened in the premises of the elephant sanctuary, Nevvie, one of the workers there got apparently trampled by the elephants, Alice- the mother –

Jodi Picoult "Leaving Time", p. 174

Jodi Picoult “Leaving Time”, p. 174

was found unconscious nearby, Jenna – little girl at the time (and the teenager looking for her mother )- missing, Thomas – Alice’s husband and the owner of the sanctuary – aggressive, recognized the body, but was found mentally ill and put in the mental health institution… That’s how much we know to start with, and as the story unravels, we find out a whole lot more about the sanctuary, and learn a whole lot more about… the elephants!!!

It is amazing how the research on the elephants was intertwining the story, how the similarities were well put and searched, and you know what, I do not care if it all is true, partially true or totally not true – I chose to believe every bit of it. 🙂

Jodi Picoult "Leaving Time" p. 187

Jodi Picoult “Leaving Time” p. 187

Sinking deeper into the story, I started to make my own vision of what happened and how, yes, I hoped that Alice is alive and well, though still could not point out the killer, at the same time sensing that there has to be a twist to it at certain time…

…and boy did the twist came! 🙂 It landed with a loud and heavy thump, yet with the grace of…an elephant 🙂 Nope, not telling anything more, enough said, that nothing was ever as it seemed…

Totally brilliant book, I gave it 5 stars on goodreads, but I would have given it a 10 if the scale went that high!

One thought on “L – is for “Leaving Time”…

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Summer reads ;) | BookBug's World...

Leave a Reply

