BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

L – is for Lighthouse

8 Comments

I think I was in grade 4 or 5… We had to read a tiny novella titled “The Lighthouse Keeper”. It was a patriotic kind of book, I do not remember much of it, but it was also the book that started my lighthouse fascination… On one of summer camps I spent by the sea, there was an organized trip to the lighthouse, that was the only time I actually climbed up the stairs and was able to see how it works 🙂

And that was it, I got hooked for good.I try to always plan our vacation trips in such way, that we’ll discover at least one lighthouse… I can’t help it. There is something extremely romantic but also touching about it…

I’IMG_6877m imagining how it’d be for a sailor some years ago, when there was no GPS, and all that they had were maps, compasses and lighthouses to navigate by. That trusty flickering light telling them they made it to the shore… also warning them not to come too close…

There is some elegant beauty in them all. Tons of symbolism… To  navigate safely through  life,there is a need for their light… different types of light… warning to stayOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA away, guiding through rough times, but also telling: you`re safe now… here is your way home…

***

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAso dark around
it does not mater
anymore
if I close or open my eyes…

still I`ll stare in the darkness
till it hurts

I know you`re there
little sparkling lights
will show me the way…

8 thoughts on “L – is for Lighthouse

  1. They are so majestic with hidden secrets of what they’ve seen.

  2. There’s a lighthouse in our Capital here in Trinidad and Tobago. I never really paid much attention to lighthouses, but they are kind of magical when you sit and imagine what it was like when they were still used frequently.

    • I`m just thinking we should never give up on them… the GPS can fail, so can all the other equipment, and in the storm, ships still can get lost…

  3. There are a lot of lighthouses where I live in Michigan. Last summer hubby and I went to a local one and got to climb the tower and look out over Lake Superior.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  4. There’s a little lighthouse on Tybee Island that we visit all the time. It is one of our favorite places to hang out!

Leave a Reply

