BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

A-Z Challenge Survivor! :D

20 Comments

Yup.  And considering the amount of time it took me to write a summary should be the best proof it was not easy..

Just kidding. The few days were crazy, I was trying to finish a gift for a little girl`s baptism.. IMG_1114

Not sure why on this picture the white looks like ecru. Anyways. Dress is finished now, picture tomorrow, (just in case there is a way this would somehow leak to FB and spoil the surprise… I do not trust the internet! 🙂 ) so I can write 😀

Along with A-Z Challenge I was doing the Ultimate Blog Challenge which was about posting one post each day. 🙂 Succeeded both! 🙂

I loved the challenge. Honestly, I did not even know and expect that it`d push me BACK into creative writing after a break I took… probably around 15+ years of writing only journal/personal blog in my native language. I used to write poetry… Used to write… Lots of things. I blame it on the Big Switch – moving across the ocean, changing the language… I was missing everyone and everything for the first year or so, and somehow it all blocked something in me…
Some sort of a “writing constipation” if you will 😉 (I know, I know, the “metaphor” sucks. Oh well. Can’t be too serious 😉 )

Sometime earlier this year, February I think, I started doing something with this poor blog of mine – as you can see in the link (bookbug2012) I’ve had it for few years now… wrote next to nothing…  I started writing reviews, promoting books… But it wasn’t filling the spot.

I found out about the challenge on Book Bable I believe on the first day of the challenge 😀 I went in full on!

… and it turned out to be a true kick in the right spot! Maybe the blockage did not disappear totally, but there is a good size hole in it now, and stuff starts spilling….

I also got the courage to join some groups (Insecure Writers Support Group being the first one 🙂 ), met lots of people who encourage me and help me to be confident that what I write is not silly or worthless…

And for that – thank you so much, lovely organizers!!!!!

20 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge Survivor! :D

  1. Congratulations on surviving A to Z. It wasn’t so bad was it. You deserve a pat on the back for all you managed in April.

    Thanks for your Reflections.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Road trippin’ with A to Z
    Tossing It Out

  2. Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge! Looking forward to next year! See you on the Road Trip!

    Mary @ Jingle Jangle Jungle

  3. Hello there.
    Congratulations on surviving your challenges! It’s great that you got your mojo back! 😉
    Your baby daughter’s outfit is cute…I’m a fellow knitter/crocheter myself..just wish I had more time to keep up with it.
    Wishing you all the best for your next endeavours.

    Entrepreneurial Goddess

  4. IWSG is a wonderful group. Just got my post ready for tomorrow. Congrats on finishing the challenge.

  5. congrats on getting through A to Z!!

  6. Congrats on reaching the A to Z finishing line! 😀

    And I’m so glad that you’ve joined us over at the IWSG.
    It’s the most supportive online writing group you can find!
    Enjoy the rest of NaBloPoMo! You are ROCKING the challenges! 😀

    Good luck with all your creative projects too!
    Keep in touch!

    • of course I will 😀 I’m not that easy to get rid off 😉 I’ll be bugging the IWSG for sure 😀

  7. Jumping in unprepared’s often the way to experience something fully. Looks like you had an amazing time this month and it got you writing again. Just caught up on your April posts, particularly loved the poems.

  8. Congratulations on not one, but two finish lines you stumbled across, tired, but energized, I’m sure. Great that it has gotten you back to your writing. I love the challenge and hope you will have time to read my reflection too. Thanks for taking the time to share with me your reflection.

  9. Congratulations, Emilia. I can’t believe you just jumped in without preparing. I guess we never know what we’re made of until we test ourselves. And now you’re off doing another challenge. I’ve been signed up for IWSG for a few months now, but I only started really interacting on there in the last month. It was really nice to meet you.

    • Likewise Ula – reading your poems made me realize and remember how I loved writing them long time ago 😀
      and as to the jumping right in – I act like that a lot 😉 sometimes for good, sometimes not so much 😉

  10. Never trust the Internet – a good slogan. 😉 Congratulations on making it through! We’ve had the same story – we started spontaniously and totally unprepared. I love that you got inspired, good for you! I hope that you can continue with your creative writing projects.

    All the best!

    • I think most of good things in my life happens like that – when I do not expect it, therefore – am not prepared 😀 part of the fun, isn’t it? 😀

  11. Yay! Congrats on surviving, AND being inspired! I have loved the IWSG, glad you’re joining it

Leave a Reply

