BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

Top Ten Tuesday – Summer reads ;)

2 Comments

Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer or Ten Books I Think Make Great Beach Reads…

bc3c5-toptentuesday2

I’m not much of a beach reader, nor I plan that much ahead – I have no clue what will be in my summer bag this year, but  here are the books I think are great options for a nice summer read (and my drink suggestions, because, hey – why not? 🙂 Please drink responsibly and don’t forget the legal drinking age in your country! 🙂 ):

1.IMG_6754 “Love in the Elephant Tent” by Kathleen Cremonesi. 
A lovely memoir that has it all – adventure, search for important things in life, love… And animals 🙂 What can be better than that??
– pair with a nice light glass of white wine would be perfect!

2. “Leaving Time” by Jodi Picoult.
It was the first book I’ve read by this author, and I loved it thoroughly! Written from a few different perspectives, so cleverly, that you get a big “aaaaah” moment when all becomes clear at the end…
– more of a rose type of wine (review)

3. “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed. IMG_6758
I mean – do I really have to write anything about it? 🙂
– beer! definitely! 🙂

4. “Freedom” by Jonathan Franzen. 
Story about one family…? a particular one, with its problems, wickedness, forgiveness, with the sense of history repeating itself in future generations…
– I’d suggest nice, fruity red wine here…

5. “Geared for the Grave” (The Cycle Path Mysteries #1) by Duffy Brown.
Very fun, light read, cozy mystery, very likable and vivid characters 😀 Perfect for one of those days you do not want to read anything too heavy, just relax with a fun, bubbly drink!  (my review of the book here )

6. “Boring Girls” by Sara Taylor.
Every summer has some darker days, maybe when humidity goes out of scale, air is heavy and sticky and you’d like a book that does not have giggly feel to it. That’s the book! (review)
– I’d suggest a shot of Smirnoff and cranberry juice…

IMG_67067. “Love Will Find You” (Australian Sports Stars #1) by Iris Blobel
I am not much of a romance person, but enjoy a nice one from time to time. This one definitely goes well with the beach theme 🙂 There is hurt pride, money (non)issue, growing up, settling down, and one sudden but strong Love that has to overcome it all. (review)
– pair with Irish Cream (or Baileys, or any coffee liqueur) on the rocks 🙂

8. Kerry Greenwood’d Phryne Fisher Mystery series. 
I can’t pick one here – there are 20 books in the series, and each can be read as a stand alone book, although one can get a better picture when reading in order.
This is a mystery series set in Australia, in the first half of the XX century, between wars, has just enough historical background to get the feel of the times. Each book filled with humour, passion and liberal thinking 🙂
– as rose is my favourite wine – I’m going to suggest it again here 🙂

9. “Heart” – Italian Schoolboy’s Journal by Edmund de Amicis
I’ve read this one long time ago, as a kid actually, in Polish 🙂 For years I was not sure if it ever has been translated into English at all? and I just found this link. Wow.IMG_6890
This is book for kids aged 9-13, I think I’ve read it when I was around that age too, and it is very deeply touching, moving kind of book, that stays with you for a long time…
– no alcoholic beverage here, as it is kids book 🙂 Iced tea would to nicely here!

10. I’m not going to put any title here. Most definitely a cozy mystery here 🙂 but which one? Most definitely quite a few for me, I`ve got a few authors lined up – Ellery Adams, Kate Collins, Mary Kennedy, Victoria Abbott, Leann Sweeney, Lorna Barrett, Maggie Sefton, Rita Lakin, Cleo Coyle, Jessica Beck – just to name a few 🙂 Take your pick…
– and pair it with a nice punch. Spiked or not – it’s your choice 😀

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Summer reads ;)

  1. You should definitely read more by Jodi Picoult! My Sister’s Keeper is my favourite by her 🙂

    • the thing is that everyone says she makes the reader cry 😉 and I do not like crying while reading 🙂
      just kidding, definitely I`ll reach for something else she wrote 🙂

Leave a Reply

