BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

There is Hope :D

26 Comments

Yeah. Summer vacation. Time that I promised myself I’ll use very wisely – and I will give a fair and honest try that my writing… After all I keep telling myself – nothing to lose, everything to gain…

After the explosion of hope and ideas in April, somewhat continuing through May, June was just… blah. The doubts came, the little voice sat on my shoulder and instead of giving me encouragement, it was pushing those self-destructive, anti-writing thoughts. That I can’t. That who’ll read it. That it is not worth it.

And every now and then I’ll just tell him to get lost. That who cares. If I like writing than I should do it. And that’s the bottom line…

I’ve been struggling recently a bit. Had that idea for my #FridayFlash posts (#1, #2, #3) and got to the point that I feel like I’m just plain boring. Like the ideas burnt out somehow… No clue where to go with it… Should I force it? Give it up? What if I’ll never come up to it? What do writers usually do in that situation?

Funny thing happens with the poems as well… They just sunk somewhere in that everyday life… Somewhere between the kiddos complaining (nothing to dooo mama! MAMA! He touched me! MAMA! She’s annoying! ghrrrr….), and the nagging feeling I should do something around in the house… That maybeΒ the path through the hallway is not enough πŸ˜‰

Oh well. Everybody has to live in this world, right? and somehow they do not sink in the mess, AND get to write their stories… So I am still having that hope that if it is meant to be for me, then I’ll find a way…


Powered by Linky Tools

Click hereΒ to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

26 thoughts on “There is Hope :D

  1. Remember you thought you can’t run? Well let it be a lesson for you πŸ™‚

  2. that’s what I’m hoping. That I will get myself together and write instead of complaining :/

  3. Emilia
    We all have these points I think. The world needs your words though!

  4. I think you’re doing great! You will have a little less alone time now that it’s summer. Enjoy the kids because they will be grown up before you blink. Doubts are natural. Go outside and be inspired!

  5. We all hit those low moments when nothing seems to be working and we have no motivation. I’ve hit them between the last couple books of mine. Go do something different one day, something that will charge you with ideas. It will come back.
    Welcome to the IWSG!

    • thank you!
      I’m trying to feed myself different ways, to find my inspiration again πŸ˜€ sometimes it works but most of the time I let myself get distracted by life… πŸ™‚ oh well, like I said – everybody lives a life as well as writes stuff πŸ™‚ Got to find that way in between πŸ˜‰

  6. I like Anna’s comment above, that events in life are fodder for stories and that we should observe, make notes, hide them in twists…
    Mmm, I didn’t think of that. Great idea. πŸ˜€
    Writer In Transit

  7. All the above comments are so good. I feel the same. I’ve had some major self-doubts. I think it does mean that a breakthrough is coming. That you’re meant to do something grand. Take a deep breath and jump!
    Play off the Page

  8. Somewhere in one of Julia Cameron’s books, she suggests these periods of doubt are actually a sign that you’re about to move to a new level of skill, but you haven’t quite caught up with yourself yet. Hang in there…this will pass.

  9. These feelings will pass. Thankfully! I know I have my moments, and I do my best to weather the storm and try to find something to lift me up. That’s why IWSG is important. You get an outpouring of encouragement that helps you through the lows.

  10. The writing life is full of ups and downs, and we need to learn to ride them out as best we can. You can do this! Hang in there! πŸ™‚

  11. These events in your life are fodder for stories. Observe, make notes, hide them in twists and turns–but mostly have fun putting words to paper. Rest, but never stop.

    Here’s my link if you’d like to drop by πŸ™‚

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    • πŸ™‚ thanks, that’s great tip πŸ˜€

    • I love this from Anna, it really resonates with me. For a lot of us writing is a hobby (although it can be a pretty intense one) so if it’s a hobby for you, and feeding the kids doesn’t depend on it, I can’t see any problem in putting the writing on the back burner for a while. And everything you see, do or feel will get filed away in your brain to pop up at the right moment. Hope you have a great summer, and come back to your writing refreshed. X

      • with me, the whole writing thing is fairly new… or kind of new-again πŸ™‚ So bumps and stuff is happening, doubts and such are present, maybe even to stay, who knows. Yeah, hobby or a start of a path. Who knows. Temporary or for good. Guess we’ll see πŸ˜‰

        • It’s pretty new to me too. I’ve been writing fiction for just over a year. Still feel that sense of trepidation whenever I put anything up for other people to see in case someone says ‘What on Earth did you think you were doing, thinking you could write?’ But luckily, so far, people have been incredibly supportive and no one has said that even if they thought it! And we can’t improve without practicing, so hopefully every time we take another challenge we learn a bit more. And if we make friends along the way – well, that’s the biggest reward of all.

  12. You’ll find the way if you really want to. I have to tell myself that when I have a month like you did. Hang in there.

    Diane IWSG #99

Leave a Reply

