BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

What I’ve recently read…

2 Comments

It was one of those books that fills me with very mixed emotions as I read it, and I am going from one extreme (liking it a lot) to another (disliking it and thinking of quitting).
I was able to finish it and I find it quite interesting overall, worth reading.
The Nazi POW camp portrayed in the book is totally unrealistic for me, and at times I had a feeling that the characters and problems are treated very lightly, almost as if on the surface only, not digging any dipper than the skin thickness. Only after I was able to get used to such description of the camp, I was able to read further…

The study of the characters as in the contrary to the one of the camp – was done really deep and thorough. I had a feeling that I am assisting them throughout their various moments of happiness and betrayal, joys and sorrows…

Overall – the book is written interestingly enough to finish it though. There is some plot build up, and this makes the reader want to turn the page and find out what happened next…

It alsoΒ makes for pretty good conversation at a bookclub meeting πŸ˜‰


Finally I was able to put my hands on this series! I was warned to start from the book#1, andΒ I imagine it was a good advice, as there are lots of “ground” information that might be lost on me if I hadn’t start at the beginning πŸ™‚ (I have done that many times before, starting a series from a book #7 or whatnot, and then going back to the beginning, I was finding out the answers for the things that were bothering me or questions that were raised while reading, not connected to a current mystery but to the character or his/her interactions with others πŸ˜‰ )

I like a lot the main character of the series. Olivia is strong and appears to be successful woman, yet her story is far from that of a joyful and sweet childhood, filled with love, care and all the wonderful memories… There is lots of hurt, loneliness and tragedy in there…

Very nice and clever plot(s), events moving action forward nicely spread throughout the book. the “whodunit” totally unpredictable (for me anyways). No lengthy waiting periods for the clues to appear – really great beginning of the series, and I can’t wait to put my nose into the Book#2 πŸ™‚


Very interesting setup, vivid characters, nice twists. A detective wife of a protestant minister? and why not? πŸ˜€
I liked the family side-plot in there, so familiar troubles with teens and tweens.
I’d give it 5 stars, except that for some reason it seemed to be dragging a bit. not sure what was the reason for it,really, because I liked the style and the theme πŸ™‚

I’ll be interested in reading other parts in the series πŸ™‚


Now this one is totally a laugh-out-loud mystery! Yes, there is a body, yes there is a kidnapping (double even). There are schemes, old, unsolved mysteries and crimes that pop to the light.

BUT there is The King!! Elvis – much alive! πŸ™‚ Peggy Webb gives the four legged character his own voice, through The King’s songs and experiences.

All comes together in a very brilliant way.

And the crime? Why, solved of course πŸ™‚

Totally recommend this book if you have a free 2-3 hours for a good belly-muscle massage πŸ˜€


So… how would you feel and what would you do if you had inherited the whole castle? Situated in the middle of nowhere, remote place… Place where the GPS gives up and you’d have to trust the instinct πŸ™‚

Merry first tried selling it, and when that did not work out, she decided to check it out herself…
That’s how the story starts, and it pretty much got me from the beginning πŸ™‚ Nicely plotted, no lengthy explanation parts, everything just so πŸ™‚ The reader learns more as it is needed, and the whodunit?

Well, there is more to the story than that πŸ™‚
I think I discovered yet another series for myself πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “What I’ve recently read…

  1. Pingback: From my reading couch… – part 1: Ellery Adams | BookBug's World...

  2. Interesting reviews. It’s amazing how each reader finds different aspects in a book. That’s what makes us human, I guess.

Leave a Reply

