BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

15

6 Comments

Now – how did this happen I am not too sure. I mean it is not like I woke up in the morning and knew I will do it! πŸ™‚ It was more like – woke up in the morning, hit the snooze button, let the 2 alarms sound, jump out of the bed, realize the kiddos are still sleeping (!? That the Sonnyboy was sleeping was no surprise, but the bright-and-early rising Sunshine of my daughter usually does not sleep past 6:30am πŸ™‚ ), got breakfasts ready, lunches packed, clothing (‘it is PJs day Mama, remember?’) chosen and thrown at their beds (I know I know, I shouldn’t be doing that. so sue me – I’d rather do it and avoid the calls: can’t find my undies/socks/pants/shirt/younameits!!!), braided Sunshine’s hair, downed a tall glass of water, kicked the kiddos out the door yelling: “have a great day if I won’t see you at the bus!”.

Then I took a few deep breaths, put on my running socks and shoes, light fleece jacked over my tech Tshirt, Garmin on my wrist and off I go. Had a sprint to the bus stop instead of a warmup (yeah, like that’d work), but still caught the kiddos at the bus stop (the driver wasn’t too early this time πŸ™‚ ). And then off I went – hoping for a long-ish run…

Started off pretty good, first 6km pretty painless πŸ™‚ then it toughened up for a few kms, and I wasn’t sure if I’ll make it to the 10km… at about 9k it was great again, so I thought – oh, maybe I will get to some 12kms? All the tricks you hear about, “I’ll run to that tree… no, to the next one… wasn’t there supposed to be a bridge somewhere here? etc” – they worked perfectly πŸ˜€

At 13km mark I thought – I will beat my distance PR!!! (which was at about 14km πŸ˜€ ). And I did. Though the last 500m were the sheer willpower πŸ˜€

IMG_2352

ThisΒ almost calls for a celebration!

It makes me wonder about those half-marathons… Though I do not let myself to dwell to much about them… But…?

IMG_2355

Another reflection of the run – I burnt 1000cal πŸ˜€ Were I on a 1000 cal diet I’d get a negative cal. count πŸ™‚

Extremely happy.

And proud.

And hopeful…

6 thoughts on “15

  1. Well done on the exercise and buring those pesky cal’s!

  2. And so you should be proud. Multi-tasking at it’s best. Love the way you met the children at the bus stop. If only. But, at 73, my sprinting days are over. I’m slow now. Everybody passes me on the street as I puff away, pushing my rollator.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ There are situations that won’t let us to be as fast as we’d like πŸ˜€
      But you know what? even being as slow as you can be – you’d still be much faster than all the people sitting on couches eating chips πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

