BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

Any other excuses??? :)

8 Comments

IMG_2533

So the newest update from NaNoWriMo site is that I won’t finish my 50000 words on time. That at the rate I’m going, I’d be done by the end of the next month. I’m exactly at half of the word count I should be at as for today. Oh well. There still life happening around me πŸ˜‰ Like… Today’s 8k run for example? πŸ™‚ Yeah. I did sign up for two races, on the two IMG_2554consecutive Sundays. And ended up running them both with an acting up, sore calf muscle. Last time it was running on the golf course, today it was the airport πŸ˜‰ (Downsview Airport 8k run). I finished 173rd out of 617.
Coincidentally – there were 173 women, and I ended up on 89th spot. In my age group – I was 25th (out of 51). SO quite alright.

IMG_2552As to the run itself – I’ve been warned (by a friend of mine, an air-force soldier) that running on the airport is no fun. I asked him: why? After all, there is no hills or majorly uneven grounds etc.? He said – long stretches of open area, where you can exactly see the point you’re trying to get to, but you’re going and going, to no end πŸ™‚ I thought he was over-exaggerating, come on, flat, fast surface, what’s not to like?

Well. Of course he was right. We were running back and forth, seeing those who were making their last turns and heading out to the finish line, while we were still barely half way through. Phew. And that cold, barely +3C weather? Well. I was soaked after I was done. Official time – 51:05. Not bad at all πŸ™‚

And dear NaNoWriMo? I’m back. Even if I’ll not finish on your time πŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “Any other excuses??? :)

  1. Ouchies on the calf, but hey, congrats on your time and place(s)! Running+me would be a BAD combination. Good luck with NaNo! But hey, half the amount you’re “supposed” to be at is so many more than if you hadn’t participated at all!
    -Amy

  2. Well done on the run achievement! And even if you don’t do 50,000 words in the official 30 days of Nano, you’ll still have done more than if you hadn’t taken part, so that’s a win in itself. Good luck anyway.

Leave a Reply

