BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

From my reading couch… – part 2

Leave a comment

As promised – carrying on with the recently read books πŸ™‚

 

22180631Not your regular cozy, where everything happens so fast. Here there is time for some memories, maternal worries, trust and distrust intertwining throughout the book.
Lella – main character – has a lot new and strange things to digest all of a sudden, and when she comes back from her Italian vacation – nothing is as she remembers it anymore, lots of creepy and ugly truths are coming out, and now not only she has to come to terms with her Husband`s affair (with Ruby – her best friend!), but also figure out where is Ruby hiding, before her own son will be sentenced for the crime he did not commit!

***

23960243

Although this one wasn’t quite my cup if tea – it had pretty interesting plot, quite a few suspects that left a big field for the reader to have his sleuthing/guessing game going πŸ™‚

***

26401450Oh, how much I like Jamie Quinn!!! I’d befriended her in a blink of an eye, have I ever had a chance πŸ˜€
Seriously though – book #4, I’d say – best one ever, for one, because it was the longest one of all! Yeah! I finally got my feed of the lively characters! πŸ™‚
Mystery so cleverly plotted, humor and little twists in the side events, which at times blow up to trade places with main thought.
Jamie has to come to terms with her boyfriend going for a chance-of-the-lifetime trip to Australia, trust is being probed when she sees a picture of him with his co-workers (and a sexy young lady among them πŸ˜‰ ).
Her friendship with Grace is tested, as they join their strengths when they are hired by a very influential lawyer’s wife to be her divorce lawyers…
Absolutely brilliant! Loved it!

***

18662936OK, so I have to admit – the Magic Phone thingy was a tad disturbing at first, and I couldn’t figure it out – does it or doesn’t it have an impact on the “now” when she has the conversations with her husband – her being in the present and him in the past? But then I just realized I don’t care anymore, I just want to find out what what will happen next….
I choked up a few times as I was reading, couldn’t help but cry at the end. Was yelling at Georgia (main female character) a few times – yeah, the book evoked strong emotions inside of me.
Was it a bit cheesy? – sure. Was it Hollywood-ish? You bet.
Does not matter.
Loved it anyways πŸ˜€

***

161556No way! I got tricked in this one! In a good company, because so did the main character, but still! huh!!! πŸ™‚ (when you read the book, you’ll know what I mean πŸ˜‰ )
Very fun read, lots of twists and turns and tricks πŸ˜€

Nothing is quite as it seams, but then – given that the culprit there is magic-show-act-troupe – it should not be surprising πŸ˜‰

Definitely a series to watch for (as this is 19th or so book and for me it was a first. πŸ˜€ )

***

7177089

Even though the witches and witchcraft and such stuff is totally not my cup of tea, and usually I try to avoid it – I liked this book for so much more – the very fast pace, showing the second chances that people do get in life, the strength of a true friendship.

Plus the Author has been among ones I like the most πŸ˜€
great Halloween read! πŸ™‚

***

9729752When I start reading a book, I usually am trying to predict who’s going to be the dead guy. (That’s if it is not written at the back cover. Or when I do not read the back cover πŸ˜‰ )Given the amount of cozy mysteries I’ve read in my life, I am usually right as well πŸ˜€ Not here. I was 100% sure the dead guy will be the no-good ex, but nope πŸ˜€

Strong family ties, true friendship, troubles with the teenage kids…

…and just like that I got myself yet another series to catch up πŸ˜€

***

Book #1 in Jane Delaney series πŸ™‚ Β And as usually – I’ve read book #2 a while back, so it was nice to fill in some blank spots πŸ˜‰

Jane Delaney – a.k.a Death Diva – runs a 22855883business not for just anyone. After all – she takes very specific, very unusual orders from people that won’t do it themselves (for various reasons). And it alwaysΒ has something to do with dead people… or cemeteries. But it is so much different when she finds her friend (and long time employer) dead in her own (the friend’s, not Jane’s) home… After first shock, as things do not seem to add up, Jane is not buying the “heart attack” cause of death that the doctor ruled. She starts snooping by herself…

Funny, fast paced, surprising at times πŸ˜€ really fun to read πŸ™‚ And even the fact that my first suspect turned out to be the killer at the end – did not spoil anything (Especially that as I was reading on the suspects were just coming and going πŸ˜‰ ).

***

When I saw the cover and title I was imagining something voodoo-like, you know, with a mop doll instead of the usual πŸ˜€ But this turned out to be not so, and am I ever grateful! πŸ™‚

11958882When a group of women’s magazine staff gets the info that they’ll be doing the TV Morning show – they get thrilled at the opportunity to earn more money… Little do they know, that it will turn out they will be working double for the same amount of money… So when the show producerΒ turns out dead – there is no shortage of suspects…

Book #2 in the series, full of humour, action, some internal struggles, never-ending animosities between family members (and roommates) that poor Anastasia has to endure. Her reward? Well. How about a very hot photo-journalist renting a room above her garage…? πŸ˜€
can’t wait for #3 πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

