BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

I – is for

2 Comments

i Isabella…

Yes, this post will be one of those very personal.

Isabella was my neighbour. One of my very first friends, as we went to Kindergarten together. Then to primary school. The hours we spent before classes at her place, watching some kids shows, my parents at work and totally unaware about it 🙂

One day the music school teacher came to the Kindergarten, recruiting for the school. There were quite a few of us, that waited in line to be “tested” if we are ok to join the music school. The test? singing a song. Isa was very shy, much more than me, so I raised my hand and offered: ‘I can sing for her!’ 🙂

We both got accepted, but she never went. I finished the Primary Music School in our town…

Our path split after Primary school was over. She went to be a seamstress. I went to high school, further education in my sight…

Whenever we met, the chat was always sweet and so natural. Isabella was one of those friends you have, that no matter how long you do not see them, you can jump in the conversation and do not feel that time…

I saw her last time I visited my home country. She seemed skinny (always being on a somewhat cute-plump side, not really overweight much, just those dimples-kind-of cute :D), I commented on that, said she looked good! We chatted a while, but I was rushed home, Easter time – everyone was waiting with brunch…

It turned out to be a very last time I ever saw her…

September 2015 I got message from my sister that Isabella is very sick. Cancer. She was down, broken into pieces, most likely depressed. Did not give up then though…

On Christmas Day, something very strange happened to me. I broke a very thick glass with my thumb ( I wrote about it HERE )… That day, it turned out, just a few hours later, Isabella passed away. And while people say it is silly of me to connect those two, my Husband saying ‘why would she wish you harm?’ – it is not about that… In my life strange things happen when people close to me pass away… And I feel like this is just one of them. As to me – there is no explanation for this (some say – weakened glass… yeah, I’d get it if it shattered into pieces. But no, it was just a hole…) , I take it my way…

I sent my condolences to the family through Isabella’s sister… My Parents went for the funeral… Isabella’s Mom told them how Isa knew that she’d die soon.. She prepared her kids for it. Her daughter and son (14 and 19), both, know how to cook, bake, clean, wash dishes, do the laundry…
I was crying when I heard about it… Just because it sounded so much like something Isa’d do… So calm, thoughtful.

Smiling with those dimples… That’s how I’ll remember her…

 

2 thoughts on “I – is for

  1. You were a good friend to her. Very sad she had to leave 2 young teens. Heartwarming story though to always remember her. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

