BookBug's World…

reading, writing, crocheting, living….

A – is for… Anne ;)

15 Comments

aOf Green Gables of course!

Do not remember when was it exactly, or how old was I when I read it for the first time… 11?12? ania_z_zielonego_wzgorza

This was the cover:

I remember when I borrowed the first “Anne” book from the library. I went there shortly after and asked for the next… and next. And then the librarian put aside all the rest of the series for me… Later on I bought the whole series . Re-read it multiple times. My Mom was laughing that I was trying to learn the whole series by heart.

And I’ve always dreamt I’d be able to read it in original one day…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA…Fast forward to year 2008 I believe… In one of the conversations with my Husband I mentioned my dream to be able to visit PEI one day… And to read the series in original… “One day? why not this summer?” He suggested… Wow…

Not only that, but I got the whole series for my birthday… and, yeah , we went to PEI in summer 2009…

… and I felt like a child again. Yup, we went with our two kiddos, just a few years old each, but honestly I was thankful for my Husband, he had the job of watching three kids that time. When I walked into Avonlea (yes, in Cavendish they made a tiny village, with original buildings from that time… school, church, stores…) I was re-living the books again. Everything came to life again…

OK so I could be writing and writing, but instead I’m just going to say – Dream away! They DO come true!!! 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “A – is for… Anne ;)

  1. I’m just finishing the A of GG series – I just love the simplicity and beauty it evokes (such a lovely time to have lived!) You were so fortunate to walk where she walked!
    Leanne | cresting the hill

  2. What a lucky girl you are! Maybe someday….
    A is for Automatic Writing

  3. You have a wonderful husband. What a guy. I told my husband my dream was to visit East Africa and he said, “I’m not going.”

    Sigh.

  4. Ah! Anne (with an “e”). I’ve read them all. Lovely that you got to visit. I also think they are doing a new movie, aren’t they?

  5. What a great trip to be able to go there and see all of that. I felt the same way when we saw the Margaret Mitchell House in Atlanta.

  6. Great start, really look forward to the rest of your challenge entries 🙂

  7. I can but imagine your joy at being there. Did you read all the books in original?
    Great start to the A-Z.

    Keith Channing
    Keith Kreates

  8. Ohh I love this post, I was ten when I met Anne, and now some thirty years later I still read the books once a year. Anne has always been my happy place.
    I too made a trip out to Prince Edward Island to experience ‘Avonlea’ a few years back when I was in Canada.
    Oh it is fun to meet a kindred spirit x

    • thank you so much! Avonlea was just the sweetest experience wasn’t it? 🙂 I found myself standing in the middle of the “village”, mouth wide open in the biggest grin ever 😀

  9. I was ten when I first met Anne, and now some thirty years later I read the books at least once a year, she is my happy place.
    I too visited Prince Edward Island on a trip to Canada a few years back to experience Avonlea ~ it was an epoch in my life.
    Fab post always love hearing from a kindred spirit x

  10. Never read the book or even saw the movie, but I’m familiar with it. How cool to be able to visit the house. I enjoy visiting places like that.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

